Posted by: stricknine | August 17, 2008

Don’t hate?

This post is actually by my oldest daughter Hannah, she shared with me something that God impressed upon her heart. She doesn’t blog but I was really moved by the word she shared and of course thought that it was blog worthy.

     Have these words ever escaped from your lips: “I don’t hate them… I don’t hate anyone; I just strongly dislike them.” I have been extremely guilty of using these words on a daily basis. I just want to remind myself and others that as Christians, and simply as people, we are not called to “not hate”. Jesus’ commandments were not “don’t hate God and don’t hate your neighbor,” rather He said, “Love God with all your heart and love your neighbor as yourself.” That is such a familiar scripture, yet we have somehow misconstrued it by simply by saying its enough to “not hate” without really understanding the love part.  I have found that just because I hold no room in my heart for hatred, that doesn’t mean that I have saved room for love. In fact, by saying that I “don’t hate” my neighbor it has given me an excuse or a “free pass” to not love them, yet not feel guilty. I am tired of this. I am ready to share God’s love with the world. So I encourage myself and all of you today: Find that person you “don’t hate” and show them love!


Leave a comment

Categories